Skip to Main Content Skip to Footer Toggle Navigation Menu
Melrose Hall

OCE Scholarships

Choose Language:

scholarships available for online and continuing education students

Alumni and friends of Linfield University's Online and Continuing Education program have generously donated funds to establish scholarships specifically for students in the program. Awards are based on academic merit and financial need and do not require repayment.

In order to be eligible, students must have:

  • Completed a FAFSA®
  • Been officially admitted to Linfield’s Online and Continuing Education program
  • Completed a minimum of one terms at Linfield
  • Completed a minimum of 6 semester credits in the program
  • A Linfield GPA of at least 3.0
  • Registered for class during the term in which the award is made

If a student is already receiving financial aid, the award will be made in the context of the whole financial aid package. The overall award cannot surpass need, but most financial aid recipients have need that is not met by other forms of financial aid. Students may receive one of the scholarships only one time.

Online and Continuing Education Alumni Scholarship Fund

The fund was created in 1994 and continues to grow with gifts from OCE graduates. Proceeds are awarded annually to a student with demonstrated financial need. Recipients may receive the award only once and must meet the scholarship’s minimum GPA and enrollment criteria for eligibility.

The Robert J. and Vivian A. Bull Endowed Scholarship

Established in 2004 by Linfield’s former President, Dr. Vivian A. Bull, and her husband, Dr. Robert J. Bull, this scholarship was created to enhance the financial support available to students in the Online and Continuing Education program and Linfield University.

Partial or full scholarships may be awarded to students who:

  • are degree candidates in the Online and Continuing Education program
  • have completed a minimum of 12-semester credits in the program
  • and have maintained a Linfield GPA of at least 3.00

The Gormley Endowed Scholarship Fund

Established in 1998 by the Gormley family, this fund provides scholarship assistance to worthy and deserving students with financial need who are enrolled in the Online and Continuing Education program.

The Arthur Lind Memorial Scholarship

An endowed scholarship established in memory of Arthur Lind, a lifelong learner, it is awarded annually to a minority student showing financial need. Recipients are to be earning a degree through the Online and Continuing Education program, with preference given to seniors.

Paquet Scholarship for RN to BSN and MSN students

The Collins Medical Trust established the Joseph F. Paquet Scholarship Fund to honor Dr. Paquet’s accomplishments in the field of medicine and his interest in nursing education. Recipients may receive up to $6,000 towards their Linfield RN to BSN or MSN degree. The Paquet Scholarship gives priority to nursing students with the highest financial need as demonstrated by the 2023-24 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA®).

In order to be eligible, students must be:

  • Seeking an online nursing degree from Linfield University (RN to BSN or MSN program)
  • Enrolled at least part-time at Linfield University before the application deadline
    • RN to BSN: at least six (6) credits per term
    • MSN: at least four (4) credits per term
  • Demonstrate financial need on the current FAFSA
  • Cumulative GPA of 2.75 or higher

Please contact the Office of Financial Aid with questions regarding the Paquet Scholarship.

Note: Recipients of the Ben Hudnall Memorial Trust award are not eligible