- Linfield College

The Jonas A. "Steine" Jonasson Endowed Lecture Series

The Jonas A. "Steine" Jonasson Endowed Lectureship at Linfield honors Jonasson, professor emeritus of history, who was associated with Linfield for more than 60 years before his death in 1997. The endowment is used to bring distinguished historians to campus to give public talks. Jonasson held the unofficial title of Linfield historian and wrote Bricks Without Straw, a history of Linfield College.

The annual Jonasson lecture event gives students the opportunity to meet, hear from, and interact with amazing scholars from all around the U.S. and the world. These scholars visit classes, share meals and conversation with our students, and give formal presentations on their compelling research.

Past Jonasson Scholars:

  • 2018-2019       Brett Walker (Montana State University)
  • 2017-2018       David Blight (Yale University)
  • 2016-2017       Philip Deloria (University of Michigan; now at Harvard University)
  • 2015-2016       Ageeth Sluis (Butler University)
  • 2014-2015       Christopher Browning (University of North Carolina)
  • 2013-2014       Leon Litwack (University of California, Berkeley) & Kelly Lytle Hernandez (UCLA)
  • 2012-2013       Victoria Bynum (Texas State University)
  • 2011-2012       Samuel Yamashita (Pomona College)
  • 2010-2011       Thaddeus Russell (Occidental College)
  • 2009-2010       Kevin Terraciano (UCLA)
  • 2008-2009       Richard White (Stanford University)
  • 2007-2008       J. Arch Getty (UCLA)
  • 2006-2007       Kenneth Pyle (University of Washington)
  • 2005-2006       William Cronon (University of Wisconsin)
  • 2004-2005       Norman Jones (Utah State University)
  • 2003-2004       William Robbins (Oregon State University)
  • 2002-2003       David Montgomery (Yale University)
  • 2001-2002       Charles Rearick (University of Massachusetts)
  • 2000-2001       LeRoy Ashby (Washington State University)
  • 1999-2000       Alan Knight (Oxford University)
  • 1998-1999       James Palais (University of Washington)
  • 1997-1998       V.A. Gatrell (Cambridge University)
  • 1995-1996       Barton Bernstein (Stanford University)
  • 1994-1995       Judith Cora Brown (Stanford University)