Math PLUS (Projects with Linfield Undergraduate Students)

The Math PLUS program pairs Linfield College students with students from Yamhill-Carlton Intermediate School to work on a science fair project with significant mathematical content. Projects may include research in areas such as graph theory, number theory, combinatorics, or they may focus on the mathematical modeling or statistical analysis of a scientific question. Students and mentors will learn about different areas of mathematics and brainstorm ideas for science fair projects. Each YCIS participant will then be paired with a Linfield mentor, and have weekly meeting with his or her mentor to work on a project. Projects will be entered in the YCIS Science Fair.

Linfield student mentors will receive a $500 stipend for participation in the program.

Calendar of Events (Mentors are expected to attend all events):

  • Thursday, Oct. 12, 6 pm- 7:30 pm: Training Session.
  • Saturday, Oct. 21, 10 am-2 pm: Workshop. Lunch provided.
  • Thursday, Oct. 26, 6 pm-7:30 pm: Mentor/ mentee meeting.
  • Thursday, Nov. 9, 6 pm-7:30 pm: Mentor/ mentee meeting.
  • Thursday, Nov. 30, 6 pm-7:30 pm: Mentor/ mentee meeting.
  • Thursday, Jan. 11, 6 pm-7:30 pm: Mentor/ mentee meeting.
  • Thursday, Jan. 18, 6 pm-7:30 pm: Mentor/ mentee meeting.
  • Thursday, Jan. 25, 6 pm-7:30 pm: Mentor/ mentee meeting.
  • Thursday, Feb. 8, YCIS Science Fair.

Mentor Application Forms

Applications are due Friday, September 22, 2017.