Student Accomplishments

Linfield’s Theatre and Communication Arts majors have been recognized for their work in acting, playwriting, lighting design, sound design, and scholarly writing. We are proud of our recent student accomplishments on regional and national stages:

National Irene Ryan Acting Competition

The Irene Ryan Foundation in Encino, Calif. has recognized outstanding student performers since 1972. In 2007, Katie Dolph was a regional finalist and recipient of one of 19 scholarships worth $500 toward tuition and fees to pursue further education.

Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF)

The KCACTF is a prestigious, year-round national theatre program that includes more than 600 academic institutions across the United States. ACTF festivals are held at the state, regional and national levels, where students have the opportunity to perform their finest work and develop their theatre skills through showcases, workshops and symposia. Four to six outstanding regional festival productions are selected by national KCACTF representatives to be showcased at the annual national festival at the Kennedy Center in spring.

Regional ACTF Design Winners

  • Lighting Design: Tess Malone (2009 Kennedy Center Honorable Mention Award) for Crave
  • Sound Design: Matthew Cantelon (2009)

Regional ACTF Festival - Meritorious Achievement for Ensemble
Spring Awakening (2013 - Cast, Crew, Designers)
Crave (2008, Cast)

Meritorious Achievement Award Winners

  • 2013: McKenna Peterson, Amanda Maxwell, Jeremy Odden
  • 2012: Laura Haspel, Katie Grainey
  • 2011: Bailey Maxwell, Chloe Wandler, McKenna Peterson
  • 2010: Alessa Karlin, Steven Stewart, Will DeBiccari, Jillian Haig

Regional Finalist 10-Minute Play Contest
Christopher Forrer (2010)

Northwest Drama Conference

This annual conference seeks to encourage the highest possible standards of theatre in the Pacific Northwest while facilitating the exchange of theatre groups and ideas. The conference hosts competitions in design, scholarly writing, musical theatre and new plays.

Outstanding Undergraduate Paper
Chris Forrer (2013)
Grace Beckett (2011)
Matthew Cantelon (2009)