Linfield College


About Linfield

Linfield Scenic

Pre-July 2009 Press Archives

Press Releases

10/9/2007 Linfield scientists prepare for Murdock conference

For immediate release – Oct. 9, 2007

McMINNVILLE – Linfield College science students and faculty members will present research at the 16th Regional Conference on Undergraduate Research of the Murdock College Science Research Program Nov. 2-3 at Willamette University.

The annual conference spotlights student and faculty collaborative science research funded by the Murdock College Science Research Program and by other sources such as college research endowments and outside research grants. Linfield students will give oral and poster presentations, and have a chance to compare their work with research by peers from other institutions.

Linfield senior Shawn Pollard of Hillsboro will present "Energy Spread Measurements of Hafnium Carbide." The research project is based on work with Bill Mackie, professor of physics and founder of Applied Physics Technologies (Aptech) in McMinnville.

"Shawn has done an exceptional job on this research project," said Mackie, who has worked with Pollard over the last three years, both at Linfield and during Aptech internships.

The Murdock conference provides an opportunity for students to learn about the work of their peers while giving them experience in talking about their research in front of a large audience, Mackie added. These opportunities are invaluable for science students who continue into professional or graduate school programs involving research or clinical work.

"It is imperative that students have hands-on experiences in the laboratory before they go on to graduate school or other scientific work," said Mackie. "Linfield is known for its collaborative projects."

Other Linfield students who will attend the conference include seniors Chris Braden of Salem, Karen Shaw of Springfield, Caitlin Deane of Bend, Peter Hong of Gresham, Tyler McCann of Salem, Kevin Kauweloa of Waianae, Hawaii, Katy Swanson of Independence; juniors Jennifer Johnson of Tigard, Evan Hiles of Hillsboro, Janine Lee of Klamath Falls and Rakshya Khatiwada of Nepal; and sophomore Diane Morgan of Portland.

Ten faculty members representing chemistry, biology and physics, and two deans will also take part in the conference.