Linfield College


About Linfield

Linfield Scenic

Pre-July 2009 Press Archives

Press Releases

6/15/2005 Linfield faculty recognized for teaching, research

McMINNVILLE - Two Linfield College faculty members have been recognized for their teaching and professional achievements.

Nils Lou, professor of art, was named the Edith Green Distinguished professor. Brenda DeVore Marshall, professor of theatre and communication arts, received the Samuel I. Graf Faculty Achievement Award.

Lou, who has taught at Linfield since 1987, was selected in recognition of his long and strong commitment to the education of Linfield students. Lou teaches primarily in the areas of ceramics and three-dimensional design. He is the author of dozens of publications, including the book, "The Art of Firing," now in its fourth edition. He is currently working on a monograph on the role of play in art and creativity. He has mounted numerous exhibitions including six in 2004 alone. His works are in over 30 public and institutional collections at Linfield, St. John’s University, Macalester College and Hamline University. Lou holds a bachelor’s and a master’s degree from the University of Michigan.

The Edith Green Distinguished Professor Award is made annually to a Linfield faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding performance in teaching and related faculty roles. The professorship is held by the recipient for one year. It is named for the late Edith Green, a former Oregon Congresswoman and Linfield trustee.

Marshall, who has also been at Linfield since 1987, was selected for her exemplary service to Linfield. Marshall is known as an excellent teacher and has also provided leadership at the college in numerous ways. She helped develop the gender studies minor, has supported the forensics program, managed the speaking center and served as Title IX officer and chair of the Experiential Learning Task Force. A major area of commitment was to the planning, construction and opening of Ford Hall and Marshall Theatre. With Molly Mayhead, she has co-edited two books, "Navigating Boundaries, The Rhetoric of Women Governors" and "Women’s Political Discourse: A Twenty-first Century Perspective." They are currently working on a third book, "Women’s Political Autobiography as Historical Narrative and Political Inspiration." Marshall holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Denver, a master’s from North Texas State University and a Ph.D. from Southern Illinois University.

The Samuel I. Graf Faculty Achievement Award is given to a faculty member who has accomplished during a particular year some outstanding achievement, beyond his or her regular duties, that is worthy of special recognition. That accomplishment might involve research, publication or some other special academic or civic achievement. The award is named for the late Samuel I. Graf, former Linfield trustee and a recipient of an honorary degree from Linfield in 1959.