Linfield College


About Linfield

Linfield Scenic

Pre-July 2009 Press Archives

Press Releases

11/4/2004 Linfield president receives two awards

McMINNVILLE – Linfield President Vivian A. Bull has recently been recognized by two different institutions for her leadership and contributions to education.

Gogebic Community College Foundation in Ironwood, Mich., named Bull the 2004 Distinguished Alumna of the Year in recognition of her outstanding commitment, service and leadership to the college, her distinguished career in education and in private industry, and her service to the United Methodist Church and the many other boards and organizations which she has served. The award was presented during ceremonies at the college in October. Bull attended Gogebic from 1952 to 1953.

Bull was also named the Educator of the Year by the Northwest House of Theological Studies at Willamette University in Salem. The award was presented in recognition of her humanitarian leadership both in the church and in education. In presenting the award, the Northwest House cited the energy she has devoted to "building bridges between the church and the academy, while recognizing the integrity of each. And in the process, you have drawn people together, acknowledging honest differences, but effecting the work of reconciliation on campus, in the church, and across the globe." They also recognized her "ethical and professional integrity, leadership that enables persons and communities to realize their own potential, a compassion for justice and reconciliation in the world, a concern for the dialogue between faith and reason and the wisdom to inspire students and colleagues to ever greater heights of academic achievement."

Northwest House of Theological Studies is an extension program of graduate theological education for mainline Protestant students. Students may earn up to one half of the credits toward a master of divinity degree by attending weekend and summer courses for two years while remaining employed in the area. Bull is a member of the board of directors of the Northwest House of Theological Studies and the United Methodist Church Board of Higher Education and Ministry.