Linfield honors three with annual faculty awards

Linfield College Faculty Award WinnersThree Linfield College faculty members have been honored for their commitment to academic excellence, outstanding creative accomplishments and exceptional impact on the life of the college.

Recipients include Scott Smith, professor of history, who earned the Edith Green Distinguished Professor Award; Tyrone Marshall, professor of theatre arts, who received the Julie Olds and Thomas Hellie Creative Achievement Award; and Jeremy Weisz, associate professor of biology, who earned the Samuel H. Graf Faculty Achievement Award.

Smith received the Edith Green Distinguished Professor Award, recognizing a senior faculty member who has worked creatively to enhance Linfield’s commitment to academic excellence through their dedication to the intellectual growth and academic success of students within and beyond the classroom. At Linfield since 2002, Smith exemplifies these qualities with his enthusiasm and talent. Throughout his professional career, Smith has published many scholarly articles and a well-received book:, “Captives of Revolution: The Socialist Revolutionaries and the Bolshevik Dictatorship, 1918-1923.” In his time at Linfield, Smith has served on the General Education Review Committee, as the Faculty Executive Committee chair and as a member of the Executive Planning Committee. Smith’s faculty leadership, active scholarly life as well as dedication to academic excellence promote not only the growth of his students, but also Linfield’s commitment to life, learning and community.

Marshall received the Julie Olds and Thomas Hellie Creative Achievement Award, which honors a faculty member whose outstanding creative activity has been recognized by peers and has been slated for dissemination. Since his hire in 1987, Marshall’s creative genius and relentless work ethic has enriched the educational and artistic climate of Linfield. Marshall’s work in scenic and lighting designs has garnered him numerous awards, including the Kennedy Center Medallion and 20 Meritorious Achievement Awards from the Kennedy Center/American College Theatre Festival (KC/ACTF). He also earned the Horace Robinson President’s Award from the Northwest Drama Conference. Last year, “Neighbor 3: Requisition of Doom” was one of three productions selected for presentation at the Region VII Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival. At Linfield, Marshall has been instrumental in creating a space where the academic sphere and the community can connect through theatre arts.

Weisz received the Samuel H. Graf Faculty Achievement Award, acknowledging a faculty member who has made an exceptional contribution to the life of the college that extends beyond regular duties. A Linfield professor since 2010, Weisz has built a remarkable record of scholarship in a short time. He has received outside funding from the PADI foundation, an Oregon Sea Grant, as well as a grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) to fund research with Linfield students. Weisz has also worked to bring the Small World Initiative to Linfield, a national program which engages undergraduate students with real world microbial research. Evident in his professional leadership and numerous research accomplishments, Weisz exemplifies dedication to his students as well as lifelong learning.