- Linfield College

Alumni Writers of Note

Our most famous former student is no doubt Amy Tan, author of The Joy Luck Club. However, we have other writers out in the public doing good work. We also have poets who have gone on to various graduate schools and have earned their Masters of Fine Arts. Our literature majors are in a variety of vocations, some in teaching, some in law, some in business.

Renee Gosson  – Class of ‘91
Gosson was the director of French & Francophone Studies Program and the Associate Dean of Faculty in the College of Arts and Sciences at Bucknell University in Lewisburg, PA. She is currently on sabbatical working on a book entitled The Liminality of Amnesia: Commemorating the French Atlantic Slave Trade, Slavery, and Abolition.

Molly E. Johnson – Class of ‘04
Johnson is the author of Spartacus and the Circus of Shadows (2011). She received her masters from Portland State University and currently works as a copywriter in Portland, OR. 

Lesley Larkin – Class of ‘97
After receiving her M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Washington, Larkin published Race and the Literary Encounter: Black Literature from James Weldon, Indiana University Press, 2015. She currently teaches English at Northern Michigan University.

Shane McCrae – Class of ‘02
McCrae is a poet and author of several poetry collections, including Mule (2011), Blood (2013), and The Animal Too Big to Kill (2015). He currently teaches creative writing at Oberlin College in Ohio. McCrae was also featured in an interview by The Rumpus, focusing on his career and his upcoming collection of poetry, In the Language of My Captor (2017). 

Elaine Romero – Class of ‘84
Romero is a well-know playwright most known for Barrio Hollywood, Day of our Dead, and If Susan Smith Could Talk among many others. Her plays have graced the stages of many distinguished theaters, including Borderlands Theatre, the Goodman Theatre and 16th Street Theatre. She currently teaches at the University of Arizona as an assistant professor in the School of Theatre, Film, and Television. 

Rob Schlegel – Class of ‘01
Schlegel is a poet and author of The Lesser Fields (2009), and January Machine (2014), a book-length poem and winner of 2014 Grub Street Poetry Prize. He currently works as a publisher and co-editor at Catenary Press in Walla Walla, WA.

Melissa Yancy – Class of ‘99
Yancy is the author of Dog Years (2016), a collection of short stories that won her the Drue Heinz Literature Prize.  She received her masters from the professional writing program at University of Southern California and currently works at a nonprofit in Los Angeles. 

Anne Zimmerman – Class of ‘00
Zimmerman is the author of An Extravagant Hunger: The Passionate Years of M.F.K. Fisher (2011).  She currently works as a freelance writer and editor and teaches writing for Stanford University’s Online Writers’ Studio and at the San Francisco Writers’ Grotto.

Alumni Graduate Schools

 American University
Carnegie Mellon University
Chapman University (MA) English
Colorado State University (MA) English
Harvard University Law School
Marquette University (PhD) English
National University of Ireland, Galway (MA, PhD)
Oregon Health and Science University (MD)
Portland State University
Rice University
San Diego State University
Sarah Lawrence College (MFA)
Simmons College (MA) Library Science
University of California-Davis
University of Colorado
University of Idaho (MFA)
University of Illinois, Urbana Champagne
University of Iowa (MFA)
University of Michigan (MA, PhD)
University of Montana (MFA)
University of Nebraska
University of Notre Dame (MFA)
University of Southern California (MFA)
University of Virginia (PhD)
University of Washington (MA, PhD, Law School)
University of Winchester, Winchester, UK (MA)
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Vanderbilt University Law School
Yale University