Linfield College | Adult Degree Program

Navigation
Linfield ADP Home >> Student Handbook Welcome, Directory, and Calendar

Welcome, Directory, and Calendar

Dear friends and colleagues: I am delighted to welcome you to this new academic year in the Linfield College Adult Degree Program. Throughout the Pacific Northwest, I have met alumni who completed the program in which you are enrolled. They have told me that it is an excellent program, combining high academic quality, personal attention, and intellectual exchange. Thus, I am proud to be associated with this program.

Many years ago, I taught adult learners in an intensive weekend program. From that experience, and also from my conversations with your Linfield professors, I know that you are not passive receptacles, waiting for the instructor to impart virtue and wisdom. Instead, you are learning actively and together, testing life’s experiences against classroom theory, and our professors tell me that you are not the only ones who are learning new things in these classes. Indeed, the best college education occurs when student and professor are learning together, side by side. This takes place online as well as in the classroom at Linfield.

The Linfield Adult Degree Program has evolved over its many years of existence. We now employ the Internet for a good deal of learning and teaching, while continuing to offer intensive classroom experiences when possible. But certain fundamental principles will always remain a part of Linfield education: commitment to the personal and intellectual development of our students, engagement between professors and students, and the study of both theory and practice. In other words, we strive to achieve the goals of Linfield College’s mission, where we connect learning, life and community.

Have a great year!

Sincerely yours,

Thomas L. Hellie President 

Directory

Adult Degree Program

Central Office 800-452-4176 dce@linfield.edu  503-883-2447 FAX 503-883-2369

Interim Director of DCE Martha Van Cleave mvcleave@linfield.edu. 503-883-2449

Director of Marketing/Associate Director  Janet Gifford jgiffo@linfield.edu 503-413-7056

Associate Registrar John Gallagher jgallag@linfield.edu 503-883-2446

Publications & Assistant Tech  Administrator  Charlotte Allen callen@linfield.edu  503-883-2483

Records and Registration Nancy Marrs nmarrs@linfield.edu 503-883-2450

Technology and WebCT System Administrator Brett Hardee bhardee@linfield.edu 503-883-2451

Secretary/Receptionist Tammy Alzueta talzueta@linfield.edu. 503-883-2447

Academic Records Specialist Rita Martinez-Salas martine@linfield.edu 503-883-2452

Reference & Extended Services Librarian Carol McCulley cmccull@linfield.edu  503-883-2595

Financial Aid Sandra Tello finaid@linfield.edu  503-883-2225

Linfield College Bookstore www.linfield.bncollege.com. 503-883-2240

Linfield Nicholson Library (McMinnville Campus)  503-883-2261

Admission Advisor/Corporate Relations Martha Varela mvarela@linfield.edu 503-312-2264

Academic Advisor
  Jim Garaventa jgaraventa@linfield.edu 541-917-4846 or  971-237-0391

Academic Advisor  Janielle Losaw jlosaw@linfield.edu 503-413-7166

Academic Advisor  Virginia MacCallum vmaccall@linfield.edu 541-888-7284

Academic Advisor  Dick Meddish dmeddish@linfield.edu  541-388-2986

Academic Advisor  Ann Sukalac asukalac@linfield.edu 503-399-5121

Academic Advisor  Joanne Swenson jswenson@linfield.edu 503-413-7174

Academic Calendar 2013-2014

August 2013
5 Fall and 2013 Winter Registration begins
22 Summer Term ends
30 Summer grades due
September 2013
2 Labor Day (no classes and offices closed)
9 Fall registration ends
9 Fall Semester begins
27 Last day to drop a fall class with no notation on transcript
October 2013
November 2013
15 Deadline for grades from spring and summer incompletes
16 Last day to drop a fall class (W on transcript)
28-29 Thanksgiving holiday (no classes & offices closed)
December 2013
12 Fall classes end
18 Fall Semester grades due
25-1 Christmas/New Year (Linfield closed)
January 2014
2 Registration for Winter Term ends
2 Winter Term classes begin
4 Last day to drop a winter class with no notation on transcript
14 Spring Semester registration begins
25 Last day to drop a winter class (W on transcript)
February 2014
2 Winter Term classes end
14 Winter grades due
17 Registration for Spring Semester ends 
17 Spring Semester classes begin
March 2014
7 Last day to drop a spring class with no notation on transcript
April 2014
15 Deadline for grades from fall & winter incompletes
18 Last day to drop a spring class (W on transcript)
May 2014
12 Summer Registration begins
26 Memorial Day (offices closed)
29 Spring Semester classes end
30 Senior grades due by noon
31 Baccalaureate
June 2014
1 Commencement, 10 am Sunday
6 Final grades for spring due (all other students)
23 Registration for Summer Term ends
23 Summer Term classes begin