Linfield Wildcats
General Interest

July 25, 2014
Eight Wildcats set to join Hall of Fame
Seven remarkable athletes and a longtime alumni volunteer have been chosen for induction into the Linfield Athletics Hall of Fame this fall.
Affirmed by the Hall of Fame Selection Committee, the Class of 2014 will be inducted on Saturday, Nov. 15, during the annual AT&T Hall of Fame banquet.
The Hall of Fame class of 2014 includes:
•Steve Beguin '63, an All-America running back who ranks among the top 10 in five career statistical categories. Beguin gained over 1,200 yards and had 19 touchdowns as a senior;
•Bruce Lundquist '78, a four-year track and field letterman who continues to hold the school record in the 100-meter hurdles 36 years after his graduation. He was a NAIA national meet qualifier and a member of two NWC championship teams;
•Tyler  Matthews '04, a two-time All-America quarterback who set single-season and career passing records. Matthews was 26-3 as Linfield's starting QB;
•Chris McDonald '04, a four-year letterwinner in men's soccer who was a NSCAA All-American and NWC Player of the Year as a senior. Linfield's single-season and career scoring leader led the Wildcats to a 21-1-1 record as a senior;
•Jeff Owens '79, an All-America running back, Owens set career scoring records and was a member of four NWC title-winning teams;
•Two-sport star Dennis Schweitzer '67, a member of a combined five NWC title-winning teams and an All-America defensive end on the Wildcats' 1965 Champion Bowl team;
•Doug Walker '78, an all-star offensive guard for the 1977 football team that set the school record for total offensive yards per game; and
•Tom McFadden '80, basketball scorekeeper for the last 25 seasons and football statistician for the last 19. An active volunteer who contributes annually to the TopCat Club, McFadden will be enshrined for meritorious service.
Established in 1998, the Hall of Fame serves as a means to honor outstanding athletes, coaches, staff and contributors, and to preserve the memory of their past achievements.
To be considered for the current year's class, nominations must be received by April 15. The 18-member selection committee is made up of current and former staff members, past inductees, a member of the media, and a former athlete representing each of the preceding six decades.
Action Image
Linfield Sports Communication
Kelly Bird
Director of Sports Information

Linfield College
McMinnville, OR 97128
Phone: 503-883-2439