Linfield Wildcats

May 11, 2014
NCAA announces McMinnville Regional field
Championship Field
McMinnville Regional Website
The waiting is over. The field is set. Defending national champion and regional host Linfield was one of six teams selected to compete in the McMinnville regional to begin the 2013 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship, as announced late Sunday night via a press release on the website.
As the top seed in the regional, which includes five conference champions that automatically qualified and one at-large club, Linfield drew a first-round matchup with LeTourneau of the American Southwest Conference. The Wildcats and YellowJackets meet Wednesday at noon Pacific time in the first game of the tournament at Roy Helser Field.
Cal Lutheran, Trinity (Texas), Illinois Wesleyan and the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point were also chosen to compete in the McMinnville Regional. Cal Lutheran and Trinity are members of the West Region, while Illinois Wesleyan and UW-Stevens Point hail from the Central and Midwest Regions, respectively.
Four of the six teams – Linfield, Trinity, Cal Lutheran and UW-Stevens Point - are ranked in the Top 20  and two - Linfield and UW-Stevens Point - reached the 2013 NCAA Finals.
The Wildcats were one of 38 programs to automatically qualify for the tournament as conference champions; an additional four independent Pool B berths and 14 at-large Pool C invitations were allocated for a total field of 56 teams. Six teams are set to compete at four regional sites, and eight teams will compete at four regional sites. All regional tournaments feature a double-elimination format.

The eight regional champions advance to the Division III finals, contested at Time Warner Cable Field at Fox Cities Stadium in Appleton, Wis., May 23-27.
Action Image