Runners have three in top-25

The cross country team brought in three top-25 finishes at the Division-III West Region Cross Country Championships on Nov. 10.

Juniors Joe Gladow, Claire Hann and sophomore Brooke Niemann completed the Oak Knoll Golf Course as top-25 runners, earning them all-region status.  This is Gladow’s second time receiving these honors, while this is the first time for Hann and Niemann.

The men’s side showed improvement as it finished 10th overall and fourth in comparison to the Northwest Conference teams.

This was better than its sixth place finish at the conference championships.

“Four of us ran personal best times (the course was extremely fast this year), but some of our top guys didn’t have great races, which hurt us,” Gladow said.

Gladow placed 21st overall, finishing in 25 minutes, 25.18 seconds, a 10-position improvement from last season’s appearance.

Junior Jason Hight was the Wildcat men’s second-best runner, finishing 53rd with a time of 26 minutes, 15.17 seconds.

Sophomore Chad Linnerooth and freshman Alex Mangan completed the race right behind each other, Linnerooth in 64th and Mangan in 65th.

On the women’s side, Niemann placed 20th and Hann placed 23rd.

This was the second consecutive season where the Wildcats have two women appearing in the top-25.

Niemann completed the course in 22 minutes, 7.18 seconds, while Hann finished in 22 minutes, 12.36 seconds.

“It was really exciting [placing in the top-25], but I was exhausted and overwhelmed,” Niemann said.

The top-five for the women consisted of juniors Sienna Noe, Katie Skinner and sophomore Audrey Lichten.

“Our team had a lot to battle—conference performances, injuries and it being most people’s first regionals,” Niemann said.

Claremont-Mudd-Scripps won both of the team championships.

Neither team will have a chance at receiving an at-large invitation to nationals, and this is also the case for the individual runners.

Only teams third through fifth and individuals that are in the seven fastest outside the top-two teams are eligible to receive invitations.


Ivanna Tucker

Sports editor

Ivanna Tucker can be reached at

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.