Linfield College

Navigation

Integrated Technology Services

Linfield Home » Arts & Sciences » ... » ITS Help Desk » Email - Outlook for Mac » Outlook 2011 - Folder Sharing

Outlook 2011 - Folder Sharing

Share a Folder

Access a Shared Folder

Stop Sharing a Folder

You can share an email folder (or an account) with a co-worker and give them a permission level ranging from Owner (full access) to Reviewer (read-only access) depending on what activity you would like them to perform with the email messages inside.

The following steps are for sharing an email folder that is located within/under the Inbox.  If you need assistance with this, please contact ITS support at support@linfield.edu

Share an Email Folder

Add permission to your Mailbox.  Right-click (or ctrl + click) on the account name found on the left in the folder list and a menu will pop up with an option called  Click on  and the  window will open.

 

Select the user to add.  Click the  button and then type in the username you would like to add and click the  button.  Select the correct user from the matched names by clicking on it then clicking the button.

 

Assign permissions to the user.  Click on the name of the user that now appears in the  window and then click on the  drop down menu arrows  and select  from the list of permissions then click the button.

 

Add user to your Inbox.  Right-click on the  and follow steps 1 and 2 above to add the user.  Permissions should be set to none.  Do not perform step 3 on your inbox unless you want all the emails in your inbox to be visible.

 

Add permission to the folder.  Now you can right-click on each folder you would like to share and follow steps 1 to 3.  The permission levels explained below apply to the folder or mailbox item they are assigned and to any subfolders.

 

• Owner – Create, read, modify, and delete any Address Book. Calendar, private or public folders and Mail folder items. Owner can also change the permission level others have for the folder.
• Publishing Editor – Create, read, modify, and delete all items, and create subfolders.
• Editor – Create, read, modify, and delete all items.
• Publishing Author – Create and read items, create subfolders, and modify and delete items you create.
• Author – Create and read items, and modify and delete items you create.
Nonediting Author – Create and read items, and delete items that you create.
• Contributor – Create items only.
• Reviewer – Read items only.
None – Can't perform any activity. The user has no permission and can't open the folder.

Access a Shared Folder

Open the Account Delegate window.  Click on  from the menu at the top of the screen then choose  from the drop down menu.  With the Accounts window open click on the  button to open the advanced dialog window.  Next, click on the  tab.

 

Add the user sharing a folder.  Under the  window click on the  button to add a name.  The  window will open and you can enter the name and click  then choose the name from the matched list and click the button.

 

Open the folder.  Close the accounts window and you should see a new mailbox name with any folders shared to you listed under the   This will appear in the left pane below the folders of your mailbox.

 

Stop Sharing a Folder

Select the folder.  Right-click on the folder that you would like to stop sharing and click on  to open the window.

 

Remove the permissions.  Click on the name of the user you would like to remove and click the  button then click on the button.