Navigation

Integrated Technology Services

Linfield Home » Arts & Sciences » ... » ITS Help Desk » Email - Outlook for Windows » Outlook - Deleted Items Folder

Outlook - Deleted Items Folder

Manually Delete Email
Create a Schedule (AutoArchive) to Delete Email
Delete Email Upon Exiting Outlook

Email message that are deleted from any folder are moved to the Deleted Items folder where they remain until you permanently delete them (manually or by a schedule). There are three methods listed below to choose from. For your convienence, ITS recommends you Create a Schedule (AutoArchive) to Delete Email, Email stored in the Deleted Items folder is 'counted' towards your Total Exchange Account Quota of 300 MB.

 
Manually Delete Email

 

1. Right Mouse click on the Deleted Items folder.

2. A submenu will appear.

3. Choose Empty "Deleted Items" Folder.

4. A message dialog box will appear asking Are you sure you want to permanently delete all of the items and subfolders in the "Deleted Items" folders? "

5. Click Yes button.

 
Create a Schedule (AutoArchive) to Delete Email

1. Right Mouse click on the Deleted Items folder.

2. A submenu will appear.

3. Choose Properties.

 

4. A Deleted Items Properties dialog box will appear.

5. Choose AutoArchive tab.

We recommend you choose the following settings -

6. Click the radio button next to Archive this folder using these settings:

  • Clean out items older than 2 Weeks.
  • Click the radio button next to Permanently delete old items.

7. Click Apply button.

8. Click OK button.

Delete Email Upon Exiting Outlook

1. Go to Tools menu -> Options.

2. A Options dialog window will appear.

3. Click on Other tab.

4. Click the checkbox next to Empty the Deleted Items Folder upon Exiting.

5. Click Apply button.

6. Click OK button.

7. Upon closing Outlook, a message dialog box will appear asking if you want to permanently delete all the items.

8. Click Yes button.