Linfield College

Navigation

Integrated Technology Services

Linfield Home » Arts & Sciences » ... » ITS Help Desk » Email - Outlook for Windows » Outlook 2010 - Sharing a Calendar

Outlook 2010 - Sharing a Calendar

Sharing a Calendar
Open a Shared Calendar
Stop Sharing a Calendar

Sharing a Calendar

You can share your calendar with a co-worker and give them a permission level ranging from Owner (full access) to Reviewer (read-only access) depending on what activity you would like them to perform with those calendar appointments.

Give permission to your mailbox. 

Open Outlook and right-click on your mailbox Now click on 'Folder Permissions' .

Add the person.

 Click on the 'Permissions' tab  then click on 'Add' .

Find the name to be added.

 Type the name into the search field then click on the correct name that appears below.  Next click 'Add'  then 'OK' .


Assign the permission level.

 Make sure the name is highlighted and change the permission level to reviewer  in the drop down menu then click 'OK' .

Add permission to your calendar.

Go to your calendars and right-click on the calendar you want to share and choose 'Properties...'.


Add the person.

Click on the Permissions tab then click 'Add'.

Find the name to be added.

Type the name into the search field then click on the correct name that appears below.  Next click 'Add' then 'OK'.

Assign the permission level.

Make sure the name is highlighted and change the permission level to 'Reviewer' (read only) or 'Editor' (able to make changes) in the drop down menu then click 'OK' .

Permission levels -

• Owner – Create, read, modify, and delete any Address Book. Calendar, private or public folders and Mail folder items. Owner can also change the permission level others have for the folder.
• Publishing Editor – Create, read, modify, and delete all items, and create subfolders.
• Editor – Create, read, modify, and delete all items.
• Publishing Author – Create and read items, create subfolders, and modify and delete items you create.
• Author – Create and read items, and modify and delete items you create.
Nonediting Author – Create and read items, and delete items that you create.
• Contributor – Create items only.
• Reviewer – Read items only.
• Free/Busy time, subject, location – Shows more detail than just Free/Busy.
• Free/Busy – Default permission, used in scheduling assistant.
None – Can't perform any activity. The user has no permission and can't open the folder.

 

Open a Shared Calendar

Make sure they have shared the calendar with you before performing these steps.

See above for instructions on how to do this.

Open the calendar.

Click on 'File' then click 'Open'   Next click on 'Other User's Folder'.


Find the calendar.

Type the name of the user whose calendar you want to see or click on 'Name...' and select it from the list. Then change the 'Folder type:' to 'Calendar' then click 'OK' .


View the calendar.

To view the calendar check the box next to the name under 'Shared Calendars'.


Stop Sharing a Calendar

Remove permission to your mailbox.

Right click on your mailbox and choose 'Folder Permissions' .

Remove the person's name.

Click on the 'Permissions' tab and then click on the person's name you would like to remove then click 'Remove' then click 'OK' .