Navigation

Integrated Technology Services

Linfield Home » Arts & Sciences » ... » ITS Help Desk » Email - Entourage » Entourage - Deleted Items Folder

Entourage - Deleted Items Folder

Manually Delete Email
Create a Schedule to Delete Email
Delete Email Upon Exiting Entourage

Email messages that are deleted from any folder are moved to the Deleted Items folder where they remain until you permanently delete them (manually or by a schedule).
There are three methods listed below to choose from. For your convienence, ITS recommends you Create a Schedule to Delete Email. Email stored in the Deleted Items folder is 'counted' towards your Total Exchange Account Quota of 300MB.


Manually Delete Email

1. Right Mouse click OR hold the Ctrl key down+ Mouse click on the Deleted Items folder.

2. A submenu will appear, choose Empty "Deleted Items".

3. A message dialog box will appear asking Are you sure you want to empty the 'Deleted Items' folder?"

4. Click Empty button.

**Note: If you don't wish to see this message every time you empty this folder, check the box, Don't show this message again.


Create a Schedule to Delete Email

1. Go to Tools menu -> Schedules.

  • A Schedules dialog box will appear.
  • Double click on Empty Deleted Items Folder.

2. A Edit Schedule dialog box will open.

3. When section - specify from the drop down menus when you want the Deleted Items folder to be emptied.

  • We recommend you choose the following settings -
    • Repeating Schedule
    • Every 15
    • Days
    • Select/Enable the check box Only If Connected

**Note: other options that are available -

    At Startup - will run automatically when you start Entourage.

    On Quit - will run automatically when you quit Entourage.

    Timed Schedule - will run only on specific days at preset times

    Repeating Schedule - will run automatically at designated time intervals.

    Recurring - will run based on a date pattern (such as daily, weekly, or every second Monday of the month.

3. Action section -

  • In the from field, select Choose folder. from the drop down menu.

4. A Choose Folder dialog window will appear.

  • Scroll down until you can select/highlight the Deleted Items folder listed under your Exchange Account.
  • Click Choose button.

5. Action section continued.-

We recommend you choose the following settings -
  • In the older than field, type 14 days.
  • Click OK button.

6. You will see the Empty Deleted Items Folder schedule and the Next Run time listed.

7. Close the window and you are done.


Empty Deleted Items Upon Exiting Entourage

1. Go to Tools menu -> Schedules

  • A Schedules dialog box will appear.
  • Double click on Empty Deleted Items Folder.

2. A Edit Schedule dialog window will open.

3. When section -

  • Choose On Quit.

4. Action section -

  • In the from field, select Choose folder.. from the drop down menu.

5. A Choose Folder dialog window will appear.

  • Scroll down until you can select/highlight the Deleted Items folder listed under your Exchange Account.
  • Click Choose button.

6. Action section continued -

We recommend you choose the following setting -
  • Delete Mail.
  • from field - you should see Deleted Items (your name Exchange).
  • In the older than field 14 days.

7. Click OK button.

8. You will see the Empty Deleted Items Folder schedule and the On Quit time listed.

9. Close the window and you are done.