Consumer Information

Linfield Scenic
Linfield Home » Arts & Sciences » Consumer Information » Complaints, Grievances, and Problem Resolution

Options beyond Linfield for complaints, grievances, and problem resolution

In compliance with the Higher Education Opportunity Act of 2008, institutions offering distance education must provide enrolled and prospective students with contact information for filing complaints with accrediting agencies and with the appropriate state agencies for handling complaints.  Students enrolled in distance education courses have the same rights and responsibilities as those enrolled in on-campus courses.

If you are unable to resolve any issues with Linfield College by following standard college processes, you may refer to the list below for additional resolution in your state.  Many agencies responsible for handling complaints advise that you exhaust opportunities for resolution within Linfield prior to filing a complaint with a state.

  • If you have concerns about education quality or requirements for accreditation that are not resolved by processes within Linfield,  you may contact Linfield's accrediting organizations. A complete list of accrediting agencies with addresses and phone numbers may be found here.  The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) is Linfield's regional accreditor.
  • In the state of Oregon, where Linfield is physically located, consumer and other civil complaints may be filed with the Oregon Department of Justice.
  • In the state of Washington, complaints may be filed with the Washington Student Achievement Council.
  • See the list below for links to other state agencies.
 Alaska  Arizona  California
 Colorado  Connecticut (alternate)  Delaware
 Florida  Georgia  Hawaii
 Idaho  Illinois  Iowa
 Kansas  Kentucky (alternate)  Louisiana
 Maine (alternate)  Maryland (alternate)  Michigan
 Mississippi  Missouri  Montana
 Nebraska (alternate)  Nevada  New Hampshire
 New Jersey (alternate)  New York  North Dakota
 Ohio (alternate)  Oklahoma  Pennsylvania
 Rhode Island  South Carolina  South Dakota
 Texas  Utah  Vermont
 Virginia  West Virginia (alternate)  Wyoming

Return to Consumer Information page