Linfield College

Navigation

Academic Advising

Linfield Scenic
Linfield Home » Arts & Sciences » ... » Academic Advising Handbook » Academic Advising Information and Procedures » Colloquium Calendar

Fall 2014 IDST 007 Colloquium Calendar

Date Time Class Topic
Fri, Aug. 22 10:30 - 12:00 Class: Introductions (parents and students)

  2:00 - 3:30 Class: Introduction to academic culture/community-building (students only)
  5:30 - 7:00 New Student Picnic
     
Sat, Aug. 23 12:15 - 1:30 Class: course scheduling and preparing for advising appointments
     
Sun, Aug. 24 10:00 -4:00 Individual advising appointments
  6:45 “Welcome to the Time of Your Life” : Meet in Colloquium classrooms
     
Mon, Aug.25 All day First Day of Fall 2014 classes- check your schedule for course times and locations.
  6:30 - 7:30 First week debrief, convocation, add/drop process, talking with professors, academic expectations, introduction to campus resources learning module.* 
     
Mon, Sept. 1 6:30 - 7:30 Labor Day. No Class.
     
Mon, Sept. 8 6:30 -7:30 *PLACE & common reading discussion
     
Sept. 8-17   Individual meetings with Peer Advisors. Check in on course progress, accessing academic resources, and transition to Linfield.
     
Mon, Sept. 15 6:30 -7:30 Goal setting, campus resources, strategies of the successful Linfield student.
     
Mon, Sept. 22 6:30 - 7:30 *PLACE, major exploration and liberal arts
     
Mon, Sept. 29 6:30 -7:30 *PLACE Event & discussion
     
Mon, Oct. 6 6:30-7:30 Current student panels
     
Oct. 6-17   Individual meetings with Peer Advisors. Preparation for individual advising appointments with faculty advisor.
     
Mon, Oct. 13   Departmental Open Houses
     
Mon, Oct. 20 6:30 -7:30 Creating a four-year plan, using the catalog and using the program evaluation tool on WebAdvisor.
     
Mon, Oct. 27 6:30-7:30 Group A: International Programs Discussion (in colloquium rooms)* Group B: Finding your Career Path (ICE Auditorium)*
     
Oct. 20-31   Individual advising appointments w/Faculty Advisor in preparation for course registration
     
Mon, Nov. 3 6:30-7:30 Group A: Finding your Career Path (ICE Auditorium)* Group B: International Programs Discussion (in colloquium rooms)*
     
Mon, Nov. 10 6:30 - 7:30 Time Management. Using TaskStream. Registration issues. Declaring your major and changing advisors.
     
Mon, Nov. 17   *PLACE Event & discussion
     
Mon, Nov. 24   Thanksgiving Break. No class.
     
Mon, Dec. 1 6:30-7:30 Preparation and expectations for final exams. Final project presentations.*
     
Mon, Feb 23 6:30 – 7:30 Fall and January Term debrief. Spring semester goal setting.

 

* Placeholder nights for PLACE events or PLACE-related discussion.  The schedule can be rearranged by moving any scheduled class except those with designated with *