Linfield College


Academic Affairs

Linfield Scenic
Linfield Home » Arts & Sciences » Academic Affairs » Faculty Awards

Faculty Awards

Edith Green Distinguished Professor Award
Established 1980
The Edith Green Professorship was established by the Board of Trustees and named for the Honorable Edith Green, former Oregon Congresswoman and Linfield Trustee, to be made annually to a regular Linfield faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding teaching effectiveness. The recipient holds the professorship for one year. A special stipend is provided for the year. 

Nomination Form

Samuel H. Graf Faculty Achievement Award
Established 1992
This award is named for the late Samuel H. Graf, former member of the Board of Trustees and recipient of an honorary Doctor of Science in Engineering degree from Linfield in 1959. This award is given as often as annually to a faculty member who has accomplished during a particular year some outstanding performance, beyond his or her regular duties, that is worthy of special recognition, involving research, publication, or some other special academic or civic achievement. A special stipend is provided for the year.

Nomination Form

Allen and Pat Kelley Faculty Scholar Award
Established 2007
Created by former trustee Dr. Allen Kelley and his wife Pat, this award is given annually to a tenure-track or tenured faculty member in recognition of outstanding scholarly achievement in the preceding academic year, to be understood as publication in a refereed academic site. The award includes a special cash stipend and a two-class course release for the coming year.

Nomination Guidelines

Marvin and Laurie Henberg International Scholarship Award
Established 2013
Over the course of his career at Linfield College, Dr. Marvin Henberg served as Vice-President of Academic Affairs, Dean of Faculty, and Interim President. He and his wife Laurie created an endowed fund to recognize and support faculty international scholarship. Dr. and Mrs. Henberg were instrumental in developing the guidelines, which are designed specifically to recognize a faculty member whose scholarly activity focuses on an international topic or theme, and has passed peer review and has been or is slated for publication on the basis of such review. The award will consist of a stipend in each of two consecutive years.

Julie Olds and Thomas Hellie Creative Achievement Award
Established 2014
The faculty creative award was established by President Thomas L. Hellie and his wife, Julie Olds. Both Tom and Julie began their career in the arts, Tom with a Ph.D. in theatre history from the University of Missouri-Columbia and Julie with an MFA in acting from Case Western Reserve University. Faculty selected for this award will have outstanding creative work that has been recognized by their peers and has been or is slated for dissemination in ways appropriate for the specific focus of the work. A special stipend is provided for the year.

Nomination Guidelines